IESR Website
The 2020 International Symposium on Contemporary Labor Economics

The 2020 International Symposium on Contemporary Labor Economics

Guangzhou, China, December 5-6 (Sat-Sun), 2020


We are pleased to announce that the 2020 International Symposium on Contemporary Labor Economics will be hosted by the Institute for Economic and Social Research (IESR) and the School of Economics (SOE) of Jinan Universityon 5- 6 December 2020. The symposium is jointly organized by the Jinan University (IESR, SOE), Xiamen University (Wang Yanan Institute for Studies in Economics), and the Chinese University of Hong Kong (Department of Economics).

The purpose of this Symposium is to facilitate the exchange of ideas between Chinese and international scholars on labor economics. We invite submissions from all areas related to labor economics. Empirical research on or theoretical work with empirical applications to the Chinese labor market is particularly welcome. 

It is our honor to have the following distinguished keynote speakers this year:

  • Kevin Lang (Boston University)

  • Shi Li 9Zhejiang University)

  • Gordon Liu (Peking University)

  • Ming Lu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

  • Junsen Zhang (Zhejiang University/CUHK)

  • Yaohui Zhao (Peking University)

  • Li-An Zhou (Peking University)


Researchers interested in participating should submit their papers through our online portal at . Researchers can also email their papers to the conference organizer Siyu Chen ( Please also copy Ms. Xiangyan Qiu ( if paper is sent through email. Please note that only on-site presentation is acceptable.

Important dates: 

  • Paper submission deadline: October 22, 2020 (Thursday)

  • Decision notification date: October 29, 2020 (Thursday)

Registration deadline: November 16, 2020 (Tuesday) for presenters; November 21, 2020 (Saturday) for audiences.

Registration fee: 

  • Faculty/ Professionals:¥680

  • Students: ¥350

Note: The registration fee covers up conference materials, meals (lunch on both days and a dinner on December 5, 2020), and coffee/tea breaks for both days of the conference. Transportation and accommodation are covered by the attendees.

Organizing Committee:

Shuaizhang Feng (Jinan University)

Naijia Guo (Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Lei Meng (Xiamen University)

Yi Chen (Shanghai Tech University)

Jingliang Lu (Jinan University)

Shu Cai (Jinan University)

Yang Zhe (Jinan University)

Siyu Chen (Jinan University)